top of page

Through the Eyes of the Homeless


Ensemble

I think I saw you…

riding the 6th train, on my way to grand central.

I think I recognized your curls,

…our curls… that pretty brown hair

our hair…

Was that you?

Sitting on the corner of 86th and Lex,

Please stop shivering.

….Change for coffee, tea?

…I think I saw you…

on the bus, cross town.

The smell of urine radiated all around me.

Remember when mom yelled at us…

take a bath,

No… hide… she won’t find us.

Were you there?

Did I see you?

On my stoop.

Was that you?

waiting… waiting…waiting…

For me?

For us?

You?

I think you smiled at me?

That beautiful smile.

Gleaming.

Radiating.

Shining, light, hope, hurt and pain.

It’s sad now.

Did I just past you?

…in my cab,

…on the east side?

By the Village…

Where have you been?

…please find me.

Keep searching-

For you.

For me.

For us.

I think I saw you.

Walking through Central Park last night.

you asked…

Spare change please?

It’s me! Is it you?

… please talk to me.

Mom mentioned you were on “vacation”…

…how long this time?

8 months.

…Why?...

Beat

I hate “vacation”!

Was that you?

By my side,

strolling

through

traffic.

…please walk with me.

I think I heard you… laugh.

…In a dream?

My dream or maybe yours?

You giggled and our laughter became one.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Categories
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page